PFA Player of the Year Nominations

Earlier today the much anticipated PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year nominations were announced and it’ll surprise few to see Gareth Bale and Robin van Persie battling it out, for their second PFA award alongside Luis Suarez.

Gareth Bale is currently the bookies favourite, following his dazzling displays in both the Premier League and Champions League. If he won it wouldn’t be the first time this season that he has forced a pay-out from bookmakers, for a punter like ourselves the Bale Wincast, scorecast and anytime scorer markets have been a steady revenue stream.

As for other front runners, Luis Suarez has done a sterling job of carrying a transitional Liverpool side to a respectable league finish, but the goofy little Uruguayan’s form appears to be tiring in the final furlong. Whereas RVP has finally ended a scoring drought recently, which could give him the edge over Suarez and possibly secure him a second successive title.

Personally I’m extremely surprised at Michu’s exclusion from the shortlist, as for me he has completely outclassed Eden Hazard during a successful cup winning campaign, that has seen Swansea also qualify for the Europa League. But god forbid a smaller club like Swansea have a nominee, those places are clearly reserved for the so called bigger teams players.

The young player nominees make for far more interesting reading with Bale also nominated in this category. Eden Hazard is this time rightly considered in this category with a solid first season and stands toe to toe with fellow Belgian youngster Christian Benteke. Welbeck has been a bit too hit and miss this season to be taken seriously and I fail to see how an injury prone player Jack Wilshere can make this shortlist; yes he is a talented player but surely there have been more consistent youngsters who have featured more heavily over the course of the season.

PABO Verdict

I’d love Suarez to take the Player of the Year award just to stick it to his haters, but in reality the award will probably go to Robin Van Persie, as he has no personality so doesn’t offend anyone; leaving Bale to walk away with the young player award.

If the decision was left to me, as the font of all footballing knowledge, Bale would win the headline award of Player of the Year and Young Player of the year would go to Christian Benteke for his outstanding contribution to Villa’s campaign.


Gareth Bale

Eden Hazard

Juan Mata

Robin van Persie

Michael Carrick

Luis Suarez


Gareth Bale

Christian Benteke

Romelu Lukaku

Danny Welbeck

Jack Wilshere

Eden Hazard